The Mummy Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Sadie over at Tiaras and Wellyboots on the Mummy Tag. I thought it was a great tag and was really keen to do it as I love being a mum.

Normally I would post a selection of photos on my blog but, with Mini Luxe, I don’t think it’s fair for me to post pictures of her online. She is 11 months old and even though I think she is SUPER DUPER ADORABLE, I would have hated my mum putting my baby pictures online for all to see. I’m conscious as well that I don’t use her real name. I hope this doesn’t affect your enjoyment of the post but us mums can be a tad protective you know? 😉

1. Are you a Stay at Home Mum or a Working Mum?

I started off as I was going to go back to work, then I was going to be a stay at home mum, then I got a bit bored SO I’m a stay at home mum who works. I get to spend all day with my little girl but also do what I love. I freelance copywrite, blog and do other bits of marketing and creative. In fact I was interviewed for being a mum and appeared in LOOK magazine this week! Yeah, I know!

2. Would you have it any other way?

If I had to pick between the two I’d always pick stay-at-home but I am finally getting to use my degree and fulfil my passion for writing once again. NO MORE SALES JOBS WOOHOOO!

In all honesty I do admire those who go out to work, some people don’t have a choice financially. In the case of professions like nursing etc you need to work to keep your credentials current. I personally couldn’t see the appeal of spending 8 hours a day, doing a job I hate, earning money to hand straight over to someone who gets to see my little girl grow up. I hope that doesn’t sound judgemental!

3. Do you co-sleep?

Yes, absolutely. We don’t every night and Mini Luxe stays in her cot most of the time however during the four month (and 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, you get the picture) sleep regression I was a walking zombie. We ended up co-sleeping and it literally made all the difference. We were careful to research safe practices (no booze, keep pillows away, temperature etc) and we have had some really good nights sleep. This was key as well with feeding,as Mini Luxe is breastfed and keeping her close meant she could feed without me being disturbed too much. Plus waking up and seeing them fast asleep is literally the most precious thing in the world. Though being woken up by them head butting you is a tad more grating!

4. What is your one must-have item for your baby?

For us the BEST purchase we made was our highchair. We bought the Stokke Tripp Trapp and the newborn and seat attachments. This thing was expensive but it was worth every penny. With the newborn attachment she was able to sit with us whilst we ate dinner as a newborn. It meant that she was never alone, she was involved and we got to eat a hot meal. Then, when weaning began at six months, she was at the table with us from day one. We are very fortunate that she loves her food and we have never had any issues with getting her to eat or try things, no gagging or choking incidents either and I truly think that this was from being exposed to meal times from birth.

5. How many kids do you plan on having?

I would ideally like another one… we’re still in debates as to when though!!

6. Date nights? How often do you have them?

Not very often. We are fortunate enough to have amazing grandparents for our daughter who live very close and are very hands on. For a number of reasons though Mr Luxe and I are not overly keen on leaving her, especially at night. We’ve been out for a few nights but I know Mr Luxe works a lot and cherishes all the time he can with her and me.

7. Your child’s favourite show?

I’d like to say she doesn’t watch TV but that would be a big fat lie. TV is the only way I get anything done nowadays! She loves CBeebies, her particular favourites are Teletubbies, In The Night Garden, Waybaloo but in particular Ballamory has some weird hold over her. Personally I find the whole bloody place unnerving!

8. Name one thing you bought before you had the baby and never ended up using?

Bottles! Hundreds of the bloody things. She never ever took one.

9. Your child’s favourite food?

Mini Luxe eats pretty much ANYTHING. She especially likes tomatoes, cheese and pasta.

10. How many cars does your family have?

One, 13 year old VW Golf. Mr Luxe has a motorbike too.

11. Weight gain, before pregnancy, during, after and now?

No idea! I made a point of not weighing myself because the numbers on the scales definitely did not match up to the way my body was, became and now is.

12. Dream holiday with your kids?

At this age I think anything where we just get to watch her enjoy stuff. We took a family break to the Isle of Wight earlier this year and did the zoos and attractions. She absolutely loved it and it meant we did too. Later on I want to take her to see the whole world!

13. Dream holiday without your kids?

New York or Vegas. Perhaps a sun kissed Cypriot holiday too. Don’t think I could leave her yet though!

14. How has your life changed since having kids?

My attitude has become very black and white to those around me and, although it pains me to admit it, it’s made me quite judgemental.

If you muck me or my family around I have no time for you and will tell you directly. Often I would be quite “fluffy” (as it was once described) when asking things before and now I will ask straight. It can be painful at times hearing the truth when I ask people things but business wise it’s very useful.

In addition I was always a big “when I have kids, they will fit round my life”, “I still have to have loads of “me time”. The minute that I took my little girl in my arms that all went out of the window. I’m practically a fully confessed crunchy granola attachment mum in some respects now haha!

15. Finish the sentence “It makes my heart melt when…”

When I ask my little girl to give me a kiss and she responds by giving me a huge sloppy one.

16. Where do you shop for your kids?

At the moment my favourite shops for baby clothes are Sainsburys, Tesco, Asda and good old H&M. Anything pricier at this age would be a waste.

17. Favourite make-up and skincare products?

Since becoming a mum for me eyeliner makes me feel like a functioning member of society and any type of lipstain that doesn’t transfer onto the small one.

18. Huggies or Pampers?

Pampers, they don’t make Huggies nappies anymore for one thing. I dabbled in a bit of cloth bumming but I’m lazy lol. We also use Aldi on occasion.

19. Have you always wanted kids?

Yes, absolutely though I wasn’t sure when, and if, it would happen. I did have a couple of years before we had Mini Luxe skirting around the issue with my husband. My job was going really well, I was making good money and had an active social life. I even won a work trip to Marbella. Things got pretty bad and I think if I had held out any longer my relationship could have been in trouble.

However the culture of my work was starting to grate, my beloved boss had moved on and was replaced by a bigot, I went on a work night event and everybody was a lot younger and hedonistic. I remember thinking to myself “What on earth am I doing here?” I went home and the next day I said “I’m ready”. It was literally like a switch had been flipped and I was in the mindset. It was strange but also a relief.

20. Best part of being a mum?

 

 

Leave a Reply

