CHANEL PERFECTION LUMIÈRE Review

I’ve always been fortunate enough to have good skin. I managed to get through my teenage years on the back of a little bit of concealer and tinted moisturiser.

However with adulthood, not to mention the stresses and strains that come with it, ushered in an age of poor skin and breakouts for me. This is where Chanel Perfection Lumiére comes into its own.

I’m a massive fan of high-end products and I love the feeling you get stepping into a shop and going to a high-end counter.

My foundation has always been mid-range and about a year ago, I took the plunge and bought a Chanel foundation.

Chanel Perfection Lumiere Foundation

Retailing at £36 the Chanel Perfection Lumiére is a mid to high coverage foundation presented in a heavy pump bottle. The packaging is gorgeous and it sits with pride of place on my makeup dresser.

The one thing I must point out straightaway, and this is often the case with French brands, the product is scented and quite heavily. I can smell it on my face as I wear it. This doesn’t bother me and I’m very much in the French camp of liking heavily scented stuff, but if this puts you off it’s worth noting. I couldn’t even tell you what it smells like but it’s pleasant.

Applying this takes time, I have to admit the pump can be a bit of a pain. The way it is shaped is somewhat curved and my finger slips occasionally. The nozzle can get blocked very easily too and you won’t realise until you’ve squirted half a pump over your cream walls. Even after one pump on my hand it’s caked on the nozzle.

Chanel Perfection Lumiere Foundation nozzle after one pump

The consistency when it comes out is liquid, but not as liquid as Urban Decay’s Naked foundation or some of the No.7 range. In addition it looks a lot lighter before being blended. My application preference is a beauty blender as I find using a traditional foundation brush can be hard work. When worked in it’s beautiful but it can be quite streaky if not blended enough.

Chanel Perfection Lumiere Foundation nozzle after one pump

The finish I find quite matte, but does lean towards a tad dewy and fresh. I think this works quite well if I’m using other cream products as they even each other out.

Chanel Perfection Lumiere Foundation blended

The product lasts well and it takes a lot of work to take off. For this reason this is my go-to foundation for an evening out or an event. I would find this far too much for a day-to-day foundation both in terms of applying it and the finish. It’s not cakey at all but I feel that it’s cakey-esque (that is totally a word) when compared to some of my usual daily foundations.

Apart from the pump being somewhat, volatile, the other annoyance I have with this product is the frosted bottle. It looks great, is a tad on the heavy side, and being made of glass is breakable but you cannot see how much product you have left. In the photos this looks like a full bottle. It’s most certainly not a full bottle. I have no idea, based on the look or the feel of it, how much product remains. And that’s a pain.

I love this foundation otherwise and, if it came in a lighter formula, I would purchase this in a heart beat. The shade (Beige 40 for me) is a good match for my skin in spring and summer and makes my skin look fantastic.

It’s not cheap and would probably be a birthday or Christmas request but I feel like that is a brilliant staple for those, slightly more glamourous, occasions that I think I remember attending at some point!

It can be purchased at Debenhams, Chanel counters and online here at FeelUnique.

Have you tried any of the Chanel foundations? What do you think? Do you love them or do you prefer a more high street brand?

Products featured in this post are Chanel foundation, Anchor bracelet from Coconut Lane and sunglasses that came free with a magazine 😀  All of these were purchased with my own money. 
My readers receive a 20% off discount at Coconut Lane if you use the code sonotluxe20

 

 

4 thoughts on “CHANEL PERFECTION LUMIÈRE Review

    • sonotluxe says:

      Their lipsticks are gorgeous. I’ve usually for super sensitive skin but I can get away with it. If you’re dropping that much cash though you want it to be absolutely perfect. Let me know what shade you get! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

